Summer 2016

th-6

So it has been a long time since I have posted anything here and I apologize for the lack of news.  Healthwise, every thing is going well and my Kidney Function continues to be doing very well.  My blood pressure is coming down but not nearly as fast as they want and that is a constant battle.  I am finally on a 3 month between clinic visits.  This has been a long time coming and all of my comrades from the transplant have been on a 3 month cycle for quite a while.  My delay was caused by my many issues post transplant.  I am at the ten month mark since my last hospitalization and can’t wait to break one year!  I go back at the beginning of September to the clinic.  Haven’t had to see any of my other doctors except a yearly visit with my ENT doctor and he just cleaned some wax out of my ear and sent me on my way!

header_logo

The Dream Home hub bub has died down although they did show the Dream Home 2016 Giveaway Special in late May and it was well received by my friends.  Meg and I hosted a viewing party at Church and invited the whole congregation and our other local friends.  We had it catered by the Dinosaur BBQ with Pulled Pork and Smoked Chicken!  Of course we ordered too much food but luckily Carolyn was headed to MA to help Kate & Kenny with their move and she brought most of the leftovers to feed the volunteers helping with their big move!  Kate & Kenny have bought a house in Franklin, MA!

th-2th-1

In other Dream Home news, I am still waiting to receive both the GMC Acadia/Denali and the Bryant Speranza Boat.  We ordered both the first week of June and hopefully we will have them by the end of August!  I took the option of the 2017 GMC Acadiath/Denali as it has some new features that I liked – mainly that it is like 900 lbs. lighter and will get better gas mileage.  The best news is that HGTV did come thru right on time with the transfer of funds and now most of it is invested so that I can cover the tax payment to Uncle Sam next spring!!!  I did set aside some of the funds to do some work on our house to turn it into our dream home.  The first project, a bathroom, we needed to do regardless of the Dream Home money.  We have incorporated some of the things we saw in the Dream Home that Brian Patrick Flynn (Dream House Designer) used in the Dream Home.

th-3

So the summer started with an overnight trip that Meg and I took to Burlington, Vermont to get my car out of the shop.  Carolyn went to visit a friend at UVM and the car blew the head gasket  and that started a two-week battle with  the warranty company about who would pay for the car!  Finally the dealership in CT I bought the car from called the warranty people and they agreed to pay, so the Burlington dealership could finally start the work.  Meg and I had a nice overnight to Burlington and it included several stops for yarn at Green Mountain Yarns(?) and also the Ben and Jerry’s plant!

th-4The rest of June was taken up with planning/purchasing for the Bathroom Renovation, and they started the work the last Monday of June and it took about 4 weeks to get everything done.  This included Meg and I doing the painting over the two hottest weekends of the all time, I think.  Carolyn had a summer job in Philadelphia, PA at the UPENN where she functions as an RA for high school students taking college classes for six weeks this summer.  We did get to visit her for several days and had a great time even though she had very little time when she wasn’t working.  We did get to see the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, and the Ben Franklin Museum.

The last couple of days of July and the first week of August we went to Baltimore and Washington DC to help my sister who had Heart Surgery – they inserted a new TAVR Valve.  We arrived the day after here surgery and she was doing fairly well and we were able to take her home the next day.  We stayed for another five days to make sure she was OK.  Carolyn came down to visit for the day and we were able to get to the National Archives and see the Declaration of Independence, The Constitution, and The Bill of Rights.  She is doing well, but still has some issues that we hope will clear up by the time she returns to work late next week.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

