Going Stir Crazy

th-7Being basically healthy enough to return to work and not having a job to go to is starting to make me go a little stir crazy.  I have been having some minor health concerns but nothing that would prevent me from working.  I saw the transplant nephrologist earlier this month and had a good visit, my new kidney is performing very well, and we seem to have gotten the side effects from the immunosuppressant drugs under control.  I have had some minor balance issues when walking or on the treadmill, but the doctor didn’t seem to be too concerned, only that I should monitor it and let him know next month if it is increasing in frequency or severity.  It has been almost two months since I interviewed with my old BSA Council and still I have not heard back from them and they have not responded to my several attempts to contact them.  I know, thru other sources, that they can’t hire the position as they have to cut payroll and even further than just not hiring this position, but it would be nice to get some feedback on my interview.  I have also contacted the other councils in CT and there is nothing currently available.

th-5In addition to my work situation, or lack there of, I am also going crazy from the loneliness.  I see very few people on a daily basis to talk with, so when Meg comes home I talk her to death, just because she is another human being that I can converse with.  While she obviously wants to talk with me also, I think I am starting to freak her out, since she comes home and wants to relax.  Frodo and Snickers are not particularly good conversationalist so I seem to be forcing conversation on Meg when she might not be ready.  I find myself talking to strangers more and more – at the gym, the grocery store and even instant messaging (not strangers, but friends).  When Carolyn was home for her Christmas break I had someone to talk with, but she is now back at school.  I am scheduled to go to my old council’s annual dinner this week so I will get to talk with some people.

Leave a Reply

