Recovery Well Underway!

now-i-feel-better

So my recovery from surgery continues and I am now feeling much better than when I first got home after surgery.  I still go in to Yale for check ups twice each week.  My kidney function continues to improve.  My Creatinine level continues to go down.  The creatinine clearance test is used to estimate glomerular filtration rate (GFR). GFR is a measure of how well the kidneys are working, especially the kidneys’ filtering units.  Before the transplant surgery it was at 11 and today it was down to 1.3.  My nephrologists are very happy.  They didn’t think it would get much below the 1.5 level due to the age of the kidney that I received but they were happy with the 1.5 level.  Also, today they took out the final staples in my incision.  They took out most of them on Monday and the last two today.  Next week I have an appointment to have the staple that is connecting my ureter to my bladder and they will also take out the stints that connect the two blood veins from my new kidney to the arteries.  This is an outpatient procedure but it sounds uncomfortable.

The end of last week I was cleared to go out some.  I can go to the mall and walk since it is still too cold outside although that is rapidly changing, finally!  Meg and I started with doing like only a lap and a half at the Trumbull Mall last week.  We have been going every day and today we did four laps of the mall which my pedometer says is about 1.5 miles.  Considering that when I got home from surgery I got winded just going to the bathroom and now I can do 1.5 miles.  Hopefully next week I will be cleared to drive and then I can start going to the gym.

 

semana-santa-datas-da-semana-santa-e-pascoa


Semana Santa, Holy Week in Spain, basically shuts down everything and all the students that are doing Home Stays in Granada are asked to vacate their homes for the week so their hosts may have family in or they may travel to visit family.  So Carolyn and several of her friends have made arrangements for a bus trip thru northern Europe.  Tonight they flew from Malaga, Spain to Prague then they will bus to Berlin then to Amsterdam and lastly to Paris.  They will spend 2-3 days in each city and will have tour guides to see the sites and still have some free time to explore.  They will return on Easter Sunday (which is also Carolyn’s birthday) and then start back in with classes on the Monday after Easter.  Meg and I are incredibly envious and wish we could do a trip like this – it sounds like a blast.

SS_27442924

Wedding planning continues despite the recovery.  The invitations which we ordered the day before the surgery have come in.  Now we are double checking the list of invitees to make sure everything is perfect.   Then we have to print both inner and outer envelopes, stuff the envelopes and seal them and then stamp them.  Everything has to be done to mail them by around April 15th.  We are also finalizing the final vendors for flowers, cake, limousine, and wedding favors.  I am sure there is more to be done but that is what I can think of at this point.  Meg was able to go to the first Wedding Dress fitting last weekend in Providence.  I am sure it is going to be a great party – we Rennie’s know how to throw a party!  My brother and his wife and my sister are all coming and we are all staying a couple of extra days in Providence – we don’t see each other that often so we try to make the most of it when it happens.  We are under the 90 day mark till the wedding so there is still a lot going on but I can’t wait for the wedding and all the hoopla!

 

Leave a Reply

