Adventure of a Life Time

images-2

So next Monday, Carolyn will be off for her semester in Granada, Spain!  She will be studying at a local university and living with a local in Granada.  She is very excited.  Of course it is projected to snow on Monday and we have to drive her to Kennedy Airport for like a 6:30 PM departure, but we will get her there somehow.  We will miss her but we are also excited for her and this opportunity.  I was scheduled to do a summer of working at a factory in Mexico City when I was 19 (a long time ago) but it was cancelled due to political unrest at the time towards Americans.  Meg did spend a semester working at the Met in NYC (which is like a foreign country if you were from WV!).  Kate wanted to study abroad but was only able to work out a summer 5 week program in Barcelona.   While she will be in Granada we hope she will get to see more of Spain and Morocco and hopefully some more of Europe.  She does have a week off during the semester so hopefully she will be able to see some more of the country and at the end of the term she can tour also as she doesn’t have to be back in the US until early to mid June for wedding stuff.

Unknown

Kate is coming this weekend to help us send off Carolyn.  We are planning a paella dinner for Saturday night.  While we have eaten paella several times this is our first attempt at making it, so who knows what it will be like.  We are doing a version with chorizo, chicken, shrimp, scallops, mussels & clams.  So even if it doesn’t come out that well, the individual parts should provide a meal at least!  And of course we should have wine and/or Sangria with this feast!

So my dialysis treatments continue without any real major issues.  I will be able to take Saturday night off to spend time with Kate and Carolyn and hopefully will take off Monday also to take Carolyn to the airport.  My arm has given me some issues in that I seem to be having a bad reaction to the embla cream that I use to soften my scabs and ease the pain of putting the needles in to my veins. The whole area of my access is very red and my whole upper arm itches like crazy.  It is worse on my days off from dialysis although it doesn’t bother me at all when I actually have the needles in my veins.  This has happened before and my nephrologist and training nurse want to cut back or stop totally the embla cream.  I tried that a couple of times and the pain is just too much to bear.  The doctor did prescribe some hydrocortisone cream for the redness and I use Benadryl for the itching.

Leave a Reply

