Weight Battles

images-3

So my weight battles continue but I am slowly making headway.  I am down another 5 pounds so now down a total of 15 since my first appointment with the transplant people in February.  At that time they told me I needed to drop 20 pounds to be eligible for a transplant.  So another 5 pounds to go.  So my plan of being able to get the transplant done by end of the year is still possible but much needs to happen to make this reality happen.  My weight goes up and down everyday.  Days I do a treatment I can take off the water/fluids that I take in, and then on days I don’t do a treatment my weight goes back up more.  On top of this I still need to lose some real weight.  Also with the recent heat and humidity I tend to take in more fluids so  that makes losing the last five pounds even more challenging.  In addition I still have some more testing to complete but they won’t schedule anything until I drop the last weight.

Meg and I hope to get the transplant done by the end of this year.  In January 2015 my daughter, Carolyn, is planning to go to Spain for the Winter/Spring Semester.  While we don’t think anything bad is going to happen we would still be happier if she is at least in this country rather than abroad when we do the surgery.  It is anticipated that Meg will be out in 1-2 days and I may have to stay in at least a week.  It all depends on how well I adjust to the new Kidney and whether it wakes up and starts cleaning my blood right away.  So all I really want for Christmas is a Kidney Transplant!

images-4

This past weekend was a busy one.  Kate came home for the weekend and on Saturday we went into New York City to visit with Meg’s sister Amy and her husband Charlie and son Andy.  They were up from Houston for a wedding in Brooklyn.  We took a train in to the city then walked to Times Square and then took a subway to Brooklyn for lunch with everyone at the Dinosaur BBQ in Brooklyn.  After a very nice visit and great lunch we went back into Manhattan to the 9/11 Memorial and the new Freedom Tower.  It is all very impressive and moving.  We had to leave on an early train since I was dialyzing Saturday evening.  On Sunday we drove to Ithaca to see Carolyn.  We didn’t help her move in last week so we wanted to see her living arrangement and make sure she is all settled – and her mom missed her!  Her dad missed her a little also.  We had a very nice visit and then took Carolyn to breakfast on Monday morning at Waffle Frolic before the five-hour drive home and then a dialysis treatment.  Despite the trip into NYC and the trip to Ithaca I managed to maintain my weight without putting on more which is good.  Meg is into her second week of school and our routine is starting to get back to normal – so hopefully I can concentrate on diet and exercise and get this thing done.

Leave a Reply

