Happy Anniversary To Me!

images-2

So with the start of May comes my 1 year Anniversary for Dialysis!  I had my first dialysis treatment on May 2, 2013 and a lot has happened since then.  I had known that this day would come for almost a year – when in June 2012 my Kidneys failed and I wound up in the hospital for a week.  It was during that week that we decided to go forward with the operation to put in the Fistula.  The Fistula needed time to mature and while I didn’t need to start right away, it was just a matter of time.  It is hard to think back to before dialysis.  I had no energy, no ability to get anything done and I had no appetite at all.  I think back to my first treatment now and I can’t believe how far I’ve come in that year and yet how much more I want to accomplish with my health and life.  My first week or two of treatments are still a blur as I can barely remember them.  The first time I couldn’t even look while my training nurse put the needles in me – and boy did they hurt.  A year later and I can put my own needles in without my nurse.  My first day of Dialysis last year was also the day Meg’s mom passed away.  It was a very trying time for me, I can’t imagine what she had to deal with.  Without her I am convinced I wouldn’t be here today and potentially having a kidney transplant soon!

Also, today I went in for a thyroid biopsy where they put needles (6) into my thyroid to take out part to test it for cancer.  It will be the middle of next week before I have the results.  I am fairly positive about this but I have noticed increased difficulty in speaking and swallowing in the past two weeks, but don’t want to get all worked up over it now – there will be time for that later.  My main concern is that it will prevent things from moving forward towards the kidney transplant.  The treatment for one will affect the other.  Individually I think I can deal with each problem but together it just seems so overwhelming.

Also this week I had the news of the loss of my friend Tripp McMillan, a fellow professional with the BSA who had a lung transplant two years ago.  Tripp was an Area Director when I was on Staff in Syracuse.  He and I stayed in touch especially since I started my dialysis and as I went thru the testing for the transplant.  Rest in peace Tripp!

I certainly feel better than I did one year ago I still have a long way to go before I will be feeling great again.

Leave a comment