A Good Doctors Visit

th

So I had a very good visit today with my nephrologist.  My blood work showed some very good progress.  My phosphorus level, which for several months had been over 8 was down to 5.3.  Also my KT/V showed that my blood is being cleaned well so my doctor wants me to continue with my 5 days of treatments and 30 liters of dialysate per treatment.  My blood pressure is still an issue and was 100/60 at my appointment and we are hoping it goes back up on a consistent basis.  He didn’t change my medications and he approves my taking it only on days when I wake and it is over 125/70.  Any morning pressure that is too low and I don’t take my medication.  He was also very happy that I finally got a screening with the Yale Transplant Center and that my wife is a donor match.  He was also very happy that I finally got a screening with the Yale Transplant Center and that my wife is a donor match.  Also the big news was that my weight went down 7 pounds from my February appointment.  That is great news and it shows that my dieting and the hours at the gym are finally starting to pay off and show some results.   I am trying to do an hour per day on the treadmill and some weights for my legs and back and some for my abs.  I am avoiding anything with my arms because I want to avoid putting any strain on my fistula.  It was very nice to meet with the dietician, social worker, doctor and nurses and have good news to talk about rather than control what you eat and drink etc…..   I hope I can keep this up.

Leave a Reply

