Weekend Full House

th-2

So this weekend was just non-stop!  Friday I drove to Ithaca to get Carolyn for her spring break!  It was the first trip to Ithaca without snow falling so I made very good time.  It was a beautiful sunny day and was like 45 degrees in Ithaca – a heat wave!  Carolyn did all the driving on the way back but I did have five hours of conversation with her – probably the longest stretch I will have her alone on her break!  We got home around 7 pm and her new boyfriend Niels came by so that may be the end of us seeing her for the rest of break.

Saturday I went to the gym early since I missed Friday.  Did three miles walking and some weights then came home.  Kate and her boy friend Kenny were coming for the weekend.  I did my treatment mid-afternoon to early evening and everyone joined me in my dialysis room to watch a movie.  Since nobody will be here on St. Patrick’s Day we decided to do Corned Beef/Cabbage  a week early.  Not that we are Irish, but we do like corned beef.  Unfortunately there was not enough to have any left overs for Reubens the next day so that is just incentive to have another corned beef when we are back empty nesting!  Surprisingly we were able to bed everyone on air mattresses and folding out the futon.

Sunday we went as a group to church – we took up a whole pew!  It was very nice to have a big group and Meg and I both received compliments on having everyone home and actually in church.  The best part was that we didn’t have to drag anyone to church – they all wanted to come – well, all my daughters both wanted to come, and their BF’s are smart enough to know they should come with them, but I think both wanted to come.  They are both very nice guys  (Niels is an Eagle Scout/Camp Staffer and Yankee Fan and Kenny is a PC Grad with Kate & a Red Sox Fan, if you can believe that) and I would probably get along great with each . . .  if they weren’t dating my daughters!

After church we went to On the Border for lunch.  It was very nice just to be all together and both Meg and I really enjoyed having everyone together.  After lunch Kenny and Kate headed back to Pawtucket, RI and Niels headed back to Southington.  Meg and I then went for a two-mile walk on the Derby/Shelton River Walk.  After the walk we came home and I did my treatment for Sunday.  Very long and fun weekend but it is nice and quiet in the house now.

Leave a Reply

